
JUVENILE JUSTICE AND DELINQUENCY PREVENTION ACT 

Compliance Summary 

 

 

 

The Department of Youth Services serves as the pass-through agency for the Title II 

Grant Program.  In order to receive this funding, Ohio must maintain compliance with the 

four core requirements of the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974.  

These core requirements and guidelines are as follows: 

 

A.  De-institutional of Status Offenders (DSO)  

  

      Federal Guideline Definitions:     

 Accused Status Offender – A youth who is accused of committing a crime that 

would not be a crime if committed by an adult, i.e., truancy, underage 

consumption, curfew, tobacco, etc.  

 Adjudicated Status Offender – A youth who has been adjudicated of a crime that 

would not be a crime if committed by an adult.  This youth might be on 

supervised or unsupervised probation or under a court order. 

 Delinquent Offender – A youth who is either accused or adjudicated of a crime 

that would be a crime if committed by an adult. 

 
1. An accused Status Offender securely detained in a juvenile detention center must 

have a hearing within 24 hours of being detained and released within 24 hours of 

a hearing.  This time is exclusive of weekends and holidays. 

 

2. An adjudicated status offender cannot be detained in a juvenile detention center 

for any length of time without following the Valid Court Order process. 

 

The Valid Court Order Process must meet the following criteria: 

 

 Youth received due process. 

 Youth received a face-to-face interview by an authorized 

representative, designated by the juvenile court, within 24 hours of 

being detained (exclusive of weekends and holidays). 

 A written assessment report regarding the youth’s immediate needs 

was prepared and given to the court at a hearing held within 48 hours 

of being detained (exclusive of weekends and holidays). 

 Disposition hearing held within a reasonable amount of time. 

Reasonable amount of time is determined by the court. 

  

Once the above valid court order process has been completed an adjudicated   

status offender can be detained for any length of time. 

 

 

 



      3.   A non-offender or status offender can never be securely detained in an adult    

jail or lock-up.  Securely detained is defined as youth held in a cell, locked room,  

or cuffed to a stationary object, i.e. cuffing ring or detained in any other place 

where the youth cannot freely egress the facility. 

 

4. The DSO core requirement guidelines do not apply to youth who are accused of                       

or adjudicated for committing an offense that would be a crime if committed by 

an adult, i.e., a delinquent.  They can be held in a juvenile detention center for any 

length of time.  

 

Note:  There are charges that are considered delinquencies under Ohio Law that are status 

offenses under federal guidelines.  Charges such as underage consumption, chronic 

truancy, and probation violations (if the underlying charge was a status offense) are 

defined as status offenses under federal guidelines. 

 

 

B.    Separation from Adult Inmates 

 

Separation must be achieved in all secure areas of a facility.  A juvenile who is 

detained in a secure setting cannot have contact with adult inmates.  Contact is 

defined to include any physical or sustained sight or sound contact. The following 

would be considered violations of the Separation requirement: 

 

 A juvenile offender entering under public authority, for any amount of 

time, into a secure setting or a secure section of an adult jail, lockup, or 

correctional facility as a disposition of an offense or as a means of 

modifying their behavior (e.g., Shock Incarceration or Scared Straight). 

 A juvenile who is detained in an adult jail or lock up with physical and/or 

sustained sight/sound contact with an adult offender. 

 Contact with adult Inmate Trustees.  This applies in several instances.  

Any juvenile in a secure setting who comes into sight or sound contact 

with an adult trustee working at the facility, i.e. laundry, food services, etc. 

would be considered a violation of the Act.  Every juvenile who comes 

into contact would be counted as a violation.  The reverse is also true.  A 

juvenile coming into contact with several adult inmates would result in 

several violations as each adult who came into contact with the juvenile 

would be counted as a violation. 

 A juvenile offender who has been bound over as an adult and housed in a 

juvenile detention facility and has not been transferred within 6 months of 

his 18
th

 birthday. 

 

These federal guidelines do not apply to juveniles who have been bound over as   

adults and are held in an adult jail or lock up.   

 

 

 



C.    Jail Removal 
 

A non-offender or status offender can never be securely detained in an adult jail or 

lock up.  Delinquent juveniles cannot be detained in any adult jail or lock with the 

exception of the 6 Hour Rule.  This rule states that an accused delinquent may be 

held for up to 6 hours in an adult jail or lock up for the purposes of identification, 

processing, investigation, pending release to parents or pending transfer to a juvenile 

facility. 

 

 

D.    Disproportionate Minority Contact (DMC) 

 

States must determine if Disproportionate Minority Contact exists and if so the State   

must submit a plan to the Department of Justice to address the issue.  

 

Sanctions 

 

The state must develop and implement a strategy for achieving and maintaining 

compliance with the four core requirements as part of its annual Formula Grants State 

Plan.  Ohio’s level of compliance with each of the requirements determines eligibility for 

grant funding.  For example, failure to achieve or maintain compliance reduces the 

Formula Grant to the state by 20% for each core requirement not met.  In addition, Ohio 

must then expend 50% of the remaining funds to achieve in the areas documented by the 

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention as being out of compliance.  As 

part of the strategy for maintaining compliance, Ohio must provide for an adequate 

system of monitoring to include data collection, data verification and on-site monitoring 

visits of facilities that securely detain juveniles to ensure the core requirements are met.  

Ohio has developed a state-wide web based reporting system for juvenile detention 

centers and adult jails.  The state collects data on juveniles and submits an annual 

Compliance Monitoring Report to the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency 

Prevention.  

  

 

 

      

  

 

 

 


